Coquette: “Who Else Hasn’t Sarah Palin Met Before?”

3 10 2008

OMG, do you see now that I was not joking when I said that I cannot shut up about Sarah Palin? I thought I was done! I thought I’d let the venom out for the day.

I was totally wrong.

So, something happened last night when the debate started. I watch on CNN, because CNN has crazy-making analyst insta-responses, and some sort of arbitrary group of voters sequestered somewhere giving insta-impressions of how well they like what each candidate is saying, all plotted out in moving line graphs with pluses and minuses and color-coding…it’s an orgy of useless data analysis, and it’s exactly the kind of thing I like watching. (No, I do not have any of the iPhone apps to monitor the national polls. Because I have a job and someone would notice. But don’t think I haven’t thought about it.)

Anyway! Watching on CNN, everyone’s got their little pie-chart plus/minus thingjobs, all clear and ready to start giving points once the VP candidates open their mouths. Except then…Palin walked out on stage, and two of the analysts gave her a +1. The woman walked without falling down, and she got a positive response. I knew expectations for her were low, but DANG!

So I’m sitting there, stunned into silence (a rarity, I promise you), and then Palin actually did manage to open her mouth. And she said, to Senator Joseph Biden, “Hi, nice to meet you, can I call you Joe?” This bothered me for some reason, but it wasn’t until I was walking back from lunch today that it sunk in.

Sarah Palin had never met Joe Biden before. Sarah Palin had never, ever met Joe Biden.

Fun facts about Joe Biden, in case you weren’t aware: he’s the senior US Senator from Delaware. He’s been doing it for a while. Over 30 years, in fact. Since 1972! And she hadn’t met him until the 33 days before the election.

People can and sometimes do complain about Barak Obama and his supposed “lack of experience.” But that “lack” translates into teaching constitutional law for over a decade, followed by seven years as a state senator and leading into his term now as a US Senator. And I feel pretty certain that, before this election, everyone else involved on both sides had met the entirety of the US Senate.

Then in twinkles Sarah “Pew! Pew! Pew! [adorable]” Palin, whose political experience thus far breaks down as:

– Wasilla (pop. <10,000) city council, 4 years
– Wasilla mayor, 6 years
– Alaska (pop. <700,000) governor, 1.5 years

This is supposed to qualify her to meet with world leaders, represent the United States abroad, and lead the nation should the President be unable to perform his duties. Wasilla is classified as a “small town”, and the entire state of Alaska has fewer people than Ft. Worth, Texas.

And she’d never met one of the most senior senators in the US Senate until last night. But hey! She can walk across a stage! Success.

Actions

Information

One response

3 10 2008
Coquette: “Who Else Hasn’T Sarah Palin Met Before?”

[…] So I’m sitting there, stunned into silence (a rarity, I promise you), and then Palin actually did manage to open her mouth. And she said, to Senator Joseph Biden, “Hi, nice to meet you, can I call you Joe?” This bothered me for some …[Continue Reading] […]

Leave a Reply

